Three Little Words

When I am frustrated, sad, annoyed or pretty much any negative emotion, these three little words can melt it all away.

Especially when said by my two year old.

I just look at him and say, “I love you Jack.” And he replies with, “I wove you Mommy.”

Done deal. This girl is realigned.

Guess what?

Other people need to hear it too.

The other day, my friend heard some bad news. I texted her, we chatted via text for a while and I ended with an “I love you”. Her response told me that that was what she needed me to say, and I should be saying it more often.

My husband and I say it every night before bed.

My mom says it every time we talk…and it usually is accompanied with some silly sounds. (I….love….you-boo-boo-boo-boo.)

When my grandma, my brother or my dad says it, I’m usually stunned for a few seconds. They don’t tend to say it often. It is implied. That’s fine because that’s their way.

With these three little words, comes great responsibility. I’m 35 and can’t be acting like I’m on Jersey Shore saying I love you to every person I encounter. Nope, I have to say it because I mean it. And if I’m saying it, I do mean it.

So, make an effort to say it to people you love and make that effort soon!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jacqui
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 23:46:26

    Thanks Melissa, it is a good practice to get into. Have I told you lately that I love you boo boo boo? Well I do.

    Reply

  2. Ruth Francoeur
    Mar 29, 2012 @ 07:00:33

    That’s one of the endearing qualities about you, Melissa-you keep it real. Even though we haven’t seen each other for a long time, I do enjoy reading your posts and, of course, pics of your adorable family. To this day, I can’t look at a shower cap without thinking about you and giggling-lol! I agree, those thee words do pack a lot of punch <3<3

    Reply

  3. D
    Mar 29, 2012 @ 09:01:20

    Your message is so true. People you care about could be gone in a moment and you don’t want to feel guilt that you didn’t say those three little words often enough or even at all. My parents and other relatives in that age group in my family do not express how they feel and I found that I fell in to the same norm. Now, I tell those I care about that I love them often.
    Love you Lissa

    Reply

  4. georgecouros
    Apr 04, 2012 @ 14:29:13

    Awesome 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

